

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Social Security (Financial Assistance for Caregivers) Amendment Bill: Approval for Introduction

Portfolio Children

On 21 July 2020, the Cabinet Legislation Committee, having been authorised by Cabinet to have Power to Act [CAB-20-MIN-0343]:

- **noted** that the Social Security (Financial Assistance for Caregivers) Amendment Bill (the Bill) holds a category four priority on the 2020 Legislation Programme (to be referred to select committee in the year);
- 2 **noted** that the Bill amends the Social Security Act 2018 to give effect to the following two initiatives that improve financial assistance for caregivers:
 - 2.1 extending eligibility for the Orphan's Benefit (OB) and Unsupported Child's Benefit (UCB) to principal caregivers who may provide care for less than 12 months (by removing the '12-month rule');
 - 2.2 extending the Christmas and Birthday Allowance to OB and UCB caregivers at the same rate as that currently provided to recipients of the Foster Care Allowance;
- approved the Social Security (Financial Assistance for Caregivers) Amendment Bill [PCO 22606/11.0] for introduction, subject to the final approval of the government caucuses and sufficient support in the House of Representatives;
- 4 **noted** that the Minister for Children will be the Minister in charge of the Bill;
- 5 **agreed** that the Bill be introduced on 30 July 2020;
- agreed that the government propose that the Bill be:
 - 6.1 referred to the Social Services and Community Committee for consideration;
 - 6.2 enacted by 1 July 2021.

Gerrard Carter Committee Secretary

Attendees: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

LEG-20-MIN-0101

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon David Parker

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Aupito William Sio

Hon Julie Ann Genter

Hon Eugenie Sage

Michael Wood MP (Senior Government Whip)

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG