

# Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

## **Minute of Decision**

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# Reforming Financial Assistance and Support for Caregivers: Update

#### Portfolio Children

On 17 March 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- noted that in December 2019, SWC agreed to principles for caregiver financial assistance reforms, and invited the Minister for Children to report back with an update on a work programme to reform the system of financial assistance for caregivers that includes exploring a simplified and unified payment model for all caregiver payments [SWC-19-MIN-0199];
- 2 **noted** that an effective caregiver financial assistance system supports tamariki to thrive under the protection of their family, whānau, hapū or iwi and prevents the need for tamariki to enter or re-enter State care;
- noted that progress has been made to address some of the most immediate issues tamariki and their caregivers experience in the current system, and to move towards the strategic direction;
- 4 **noted** that officials are exploring a simplified and unified payment model for all caregiver payments, and that this work may have significant operational, legislative and fiscal implications;
- 5 **noted** that officials will engage with strategic partners, iwi and Māori organisations, NGOs and caregivers to test and refine policy proposals;
- 6 **invited** the Minister for Children to report back to SWC by December 2021 seeking agreement to a new payment model.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

#### Present:

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Aupito William Sio

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the Chair Officials Committee for SWC