

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Implementation of Oranga Tamariki Budget 2019 Initiatives: Report Back

Portfolio Children

On 5 May 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee:

- 1 **noted** that in Budget 2019, Cabinet:
 - agreed to \$1.1 billion over four years to make significant changes to Oranga Tamariki through funding five key initiatives to: transform the care system; increase the capacity of the youth justice system; establish a new transition support service; develop a new intensive response function; and improve outcomes for tamariki and rangatahi Māori;
 - invited the Minister for Children to report back six-monthly to enable Cabinet to retain oversight of how the five operating model initiatives are progressing;

[CAB-19-MIN-0174.28]

2 **noted** that:

- Oranga Tamariki is on track to deliver the initiatives 'transforming the care system' and 'improving outcomes for tamariki and rangatahi Māori';
- there have been some delays across the intensive response, transitions, and parts of the youth justice initiatives;
- noted that the first annual section 7AA report was published by Oranga Tamariki in July 2020, and that it indicated that changes made had potential to improve outcomes for tamariki and rangatahi Māori;
- 4 **noted** that significant work is still needed to address concerns outlined in the various reports and reviews into the care and protection system and Oranga Tamariki;
- 5 **noted** that the next report back on the implementation of the five Budget 2019 key initiatives is due to SWC by 31 October 2021.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

SWC-21-MIN-0056

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Aupito William Sio

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the SWC Chair Officials Committee for SWC